Thank You For The World So Sweet

Thank you for the world so sweet

Thank you for the food we eat

Thank you for the birds that sing

Thank you God for everything

 

How many times I prayed this prayer when I was young is uncountable; and how fast I tried to say it so we could eat made it incomprehensible.

 

I wonder, just what are we thankful for these days?  Hmmmmmmmmm

Thank you Lord when things go right

Thank you I have a date tonight

Thank you for my wedding ring

Thank you God it’s full of bling

 

Thank you for my daily stock

Thank you it goes up a lot

Thank you for a fast, fast car

Thank you God, you’ll take me far

 

Thank you when the blessings flow

Thank you for right friends to know

Thank you for the biggest house

Thank you God I’m not a louse

 

Thank you for the children’s school

Thank you they don’t break the rules

Thank you that we made it “in”

Thank you God…we’re good again!

 

Being thankful, truly thankful, in every circumstance is really hard!

 

Thank you when I’m all alone

Thank you that I have no home

Thank you when the people stare

Thank you God my head’s not bare

 

Thank you when the checkbook’s blank

Thank you that my children stank

Thank you they’ve been turned away

Thank you God for another day

 

Thank you that my health is bad

Thank you I’m depressed not sad

Thank you I never learned to read

Thank you God I’m blessed indeed

 

Thank you when I can’t get out of bed

Thank you there’s no funds for meds

Thank you that I’m old and weak

Thank you God I hear you speak

 

 I must confess I don’t often have a thankful heart…


Thankful is not usually what I feel 

Thankful  sometimes seems unreal

Thankful is what I want to be

Because you have done so much for me…Thank you God.

During this season of giving thanks, let’s reach out to someone we know and make their life just a touch better in some way….not to make ourselves feel good, but just because.


give thanks in all circumstances…1 Thessalonians 5:18

2 thoughts on “Thank You For The World So Sweet

  1. Enjoyed reading this. Yes, the Bible says to give thanks in everything. It can really affect one’s attitude especially in hard situations. I know God has a plan for my life but I do not know all that it is. I just try to be thankful. It is part of the journey.

    IN May, I had surgery for a detached retina. Most of my vision has come back but I am still experiencing some problems. I am thankful for one good eye, for a great doctor, for a warm bed and a host of other things. Indeed, God is good.\

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I hope all heals completely with your vision and soon. Seeing out of only one eye must seem strange and be difficult to get used to.
      Good doctors and warm beds are especially nice!
      Thanks for reading. I hope you’ll stop back by again.

      Like

Leave a Reply

